http://www.4wd.com
I think I broke it. U-Joint

Author Topic: I think I broke it. U-Joint  (Read 14254 times)

Offline jaysenodell

I think I broke it. U-Joint
« on: August 19, 2013, 07:26:12 AM »
Preface: I'm not a "car guy" so I may have some terms wrong. I'm still learning. Sorry.

After a but of fun yesterday I noticed a "clanking" from the front driver side wheel. I thought it was just mud/gravel in the suspension as it seemed linked to bumps. while pretending to clean up I noticed the front driver side U joint housing had a ring with no mud on it. Washing it off showed that the scoring was actually into the metal. the scoring appears to be created by the lower grease fitting for the steering pivot. I figure there are 2 causes:
1. I bent the C shaped end of the axel that holds the wheel on.
2. The U joint or axle bearing has given up the ghost.

Other than "take it to the shop" what should I do to diagnose this a bit better?
Mid Life Crisis in the making -- '02 TJ i4 manual, Aussie Locker magic pulling from the front

Offline Wingman

• Administrator
Re: I think I broke it. U-Joint
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 08:20:57 AM »
Take a pic and post or link to it on here.  Sure sounds like a u-joint vacated a cap.  Open up the wallet...  ;D

Offline jaysenodell

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2013, 08:47:12 AM »
I'll get a pic in a few minutes. Not sure why i didn't think about that. Obviously it's because I'm an idiot.

You make it sound like I should start crying. Do I need to buy some flower on my way home?

Here's the spot that is hitting...

« Last Edit: August 19, 2013, 09:13:45 AM by jaysenodell »
Mid Life Crisis in the making -- '02 TJ i4 manual, Aussie Locker magic pulling from the front

Offline jaysenodell

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2013, 09:18:37 AM »
And here's the evidence that it is hitting (vertical line is on all the yokes).

Offline Wingman

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2013, 09:24:52 AM »