http://www.sharetrails.org
98 Jeep Wrangler Sputtering

Author Topic: 98 Jeep Wrangler Sputtering  (Read 12519 times)

98TJay

98 Jeep Wrangler Sputtering
« on: January 25, 2010, 03:03:15 PM »
Hey Guys - I need some help. My 98 Wrangler 4.0L 6 cylander is sputtering jumping and almost stalling. I just replaced the alternator but it is still sputtering and losing power and then jumping forward. I though it was fixed after I replaced the alternator and now it is back. Also - when it starts to sputter my dash lights go dim and my heater starts to turn off. Any idea on the possible problem? Any ideas on the fix? I think I might give it a tune up this weekend.

I read something about the O2 Sensor maybe being the issue? Any other ideas. Thanks.

Offline ollllllo

• Club Member
    • http://www.jokineninc.com
Re: 98 Jeep Wrangler Sputtering
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 04:04:22 PM »
if your dash light are dimming i wouldnt think its related to an o2 sensor.
Im no mechanic, but you can start with the basics...

check the alternator connections( clean them and re tighten)
Check battery terminals ( remove,clean and tighten)
Does 98 have distibutor? if so remove cap and look for broken or worn contacts
check all plug wires for a shorts or arching.

to me it sounds electrical/ ground,  but im sure some of the other guys can add their input.

no check engine light?
good luck keep us updated
85CJ7 Streetable
85CJ7 Buggy style
06 F350 Powerstroke
www.JokinenInc.com

Offline MrMindless

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 09:06:24 PM »
battery connection sounds like it to me.  if not I\'d be looking for bad grounds.
Michael Maskalans
#571 Last Minute Motorsports
High Miler: 07.5 Ram 6.7 6sp 4x2, ARB, 19.5s
2003 R'Audi Allroad 6sp
Road Block: 98 Dakota 203/205 triple stick, 42" SXs
Dumpbus: 97 Ram 24v P-pumped, RoadRanger 13sp
'87 AMC Eagle Wagon

Offline ollllllo

• Club Member
    • http://www.jokineninc.com
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2010, 05:03:05 AM »