http://www.sharetrails.org
Real Newbie here

Author Topic: Real Newbie here  (Read 16188 times)

akhoopes

Real Newbie here
« on: January 01, 2010, 03:01:48 PM »
Hello all,

I just bought my first 4x4 two days ago. I got a 2010 Jeep wrangler sport. It is all stock at this point, I traded in a 2008 mustang for it. I have been a sports car guy most of my life, but being in the navy they stationed me in Buffalo New York. I am from the south born and raised. The mustang did horrible here though on these winter roads. I have always wanted a Jeep though, so i went and got one finally, and the more I look on line since I got it, the more I want to get out in it and see what it can do.

Some questions for the experts here....

How much trail can a stock 2010 wrangler take....as far as mud and water...rocks and hills. just curious, dont want to over do it, if the jeep cant handle it.

What mods would you guys recommend first.

Also, how about around here....trails, off road...where can a person go around here.

Thanks for any information you can give.

I am in west seneca new york, just outside of buffalo.

Bill Hoopes

Offline smichaelR22

• Club Member
Re: Real Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 03:16:30 PM »
Great to here new comers into the sport with a rig off the dealer lot and quickly looking to challenge it.  

My knowlege about what 2010 (JK\'s?) come with now is limited, but probably everyone would agree depending on budget, tires are usually the first thing to consider, followed by some swaybar disconnects.  

lift kits and lockers and recovery gear depend on budget and fabrication desire/ skill.  

Have fun!

as for trails, id recommend keeping an eye out for a date to be set for our 4x4101 event we have in the summer at Whispering Pines in Lyons NY.  its a great place for stock to wild to have a fun day.

Also, because of your location, id recommend checking out our neighboring club closer to you, WNYOR

-Smike
572 single seat race buggy