http://www.aussielocker.com
yet another noob!

Author Topic: yet another noob!  (Read 5771 times)

jeeperscreepers

yet another noob!
« on: September 24, 2009, 02:05:09 AM »
hey guys! im new to 4x4\'s and im pumped to get my 95 yj in october. it currentley has half used procomps (31\'s), a 1\" body lift, a beat inerior, a rattle can paint job and some surface rust. i plan on tearing out the carpets so i dont rot the floor pan, and replacing it with roll on bed liner. i figure this will make clean up pretty easy too. im also replacing the seats. my problem is, i want to get a 4\" lift kit and some 33\'s, but i dont plan on getting in mud all the time. this yj will be a primary vehicle, so i dont want a tire that im going to hydroplane with. any suggestions? ive compared prices of new tires and retreads.....no contest! but, i still dont know what tires are good in the rain, snow and mud. also, with the lift kit, i understand that i will need a slip yoke eliminator. do those kits come with a different drive shaft? if so, should i get one with (correct me if im wrong) cv\'s? on the bright side, the jeep was taken care of. new radiator, new clutch, new brake lines and brakes. no body damage, and a hard top. the rattle can spray job doesnt even look that bad to be honest. thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions!!

Offline GTJake

Re: yet another noob!
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 05:52:44 AM »
welcome!

you \"shouldnt\" need a slip yoke with only a 4\" lift.

i had an 87 that i put the rough country 4\" kit in, thats a nice kit

again, welcome

smoser1122

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 06:09:25 AM »
Welcome. I have a 95 yj and did the rough country 4\" as well and love it. The kit comes with a t-case drop that puts your shafts at the right angle. I have no shake at all. I love to see more YJ\'s out there, you will love this jeep. By the way if you go with rough country, it is cheap as well! :chug:

Offline MrMindless

• Administrator