http://www.treadlightly.org/
Rauch creek and AOAA 8/25-8/26

Author Topic: Rauch creek and AOAA 8/25-8/26  (Read 3380 times)

Offline Wolfi7

• Club Member
Rauch creek and AOAA 8/25-8/26
« on: August 28, 2018, 09:21:35 PM »
I've never written one of these before so here it goes. 

After finishing the final touches on the Fj40 I got off to a late start Friday night and didn’t pull into Rausch till around 2:00am.  I unloaded my gear from the bed of the truck and enjoyed the low 60s temperature and some much needed shut eye before the night quickly turned into morning. 

The Sun was out bright and early and I met up with Mark and Reid across the way in the campsites around 7:30am. Shortly thereafter Josh and Dennis arrived.  Once all the rigs were loaded up we made our way to the office around 9:00am and checked in, then made our way to the trails.  The group started on the West/South property. We took A to 3B then 3A, C, 1C, pole line, J, 15 then Mark and Reid ran Crawl Daddy (with ease) and met back up with the rest of us where we proceeded to Rock Creek. Dennis went along the side of rock creek with a group of Toyota overlanders passing through.  Josh and I broke off from Mark and Reid at the transition from Rock Creek to Deathtrap and went to our meeting point of the 10B/H intersection.  At this point it was already close to 3:00pm so we made our way back towards camp for a quick lunch break.  A few minutes down trail H and the third of four bolts removed itself from my driveshaft and began smacking the floor pan as I came to a panicked stop.  Luckily, Dennis was carrying 4  bolts from a Nissan truck driveshaft that were a perfect match so I bolted the shaft back up and we were on our way.  Around 4pm we went back out to cover some ground on the North property and Dennis took off for the day.